Radouan Mriziga

Since 2014, Moussem has been supporting and producing the works of choreographer and performer Radouan Mriziga. After his trilogy 55, 3600, and 7, performances in which the relationship between movement, architecture and composition is central, Radouan created 8 in the context of Moussem Cities Casablanca, a performance with 2 young Moroccan dancers. Youth production 8.2 followed, a co-production between Moussem, HETPALEIS and fABULEUS. It was selected for the Belgian TheaterFestival and is touring in 2019-2020. This season is all about the creation of his new trilogy.

 

Interview 

Following 55, 3600 and 7, Radouan Mriziga is creating a new trilogy based on the mythologies and epistemology of the Imazighen, the original inhabitants of North Africa.

Why did you opt for the trilogy format again? Did you make use of Amazigh knowledge in your previous trilogy too?
A trilogy allows me to work on an issue for a longer period. I don’t like springing from one issue and creation to another. I generally like working in series, depending on the questions being raised. I opted for a trilogy because I wanted to work on the subject of the three goddesses and with a planetary system: sun, earth and moon. It is remarkable how they are linked and also how vitally important they are.

There was no explicit focus on Amazigh knowledge, but it was one of the sources I used. For example geometry and rhythm, which are important art forms in Marrakesh, North Africa and Andalusia.

What prompted you to create this work?
As a consequence of my other creations and research I retained an interest in and curiosity about the many unnamed and erased parts of general history that subsequently led to the development of power variations in our present system for the production and reproduction of knowledge. In my work, the focus is divided into three main elements: creating imaginary and concrete spaces, music and rhythm, and Amazigh studies. In each case they are related to questions of the application, meaning, hierarchy, relevance and classification of knowledge.

I am interested in the dynamics of the Mediterranean region. Its interesting geographical position has led to numerous exchanges between North Africa, Southern Europe and West Asia. Our history books focus mainly on the Greeks, Egyptians and Arabs, while there is great ignorance and marginalisation of the Timazighin, who played a fundamental role in the region.

Tafukt/The Sun/Athena is the first in the series. What is your point of departure?
I start out organically from Amazigh history and society, which was a matriarchal culture. When researching the seven wonders of the ancient world for 7, I came across the goddesses Nithe, Tanit and Athena. The goddess Nithe is said to have been born at Lake Triton in Libya and she later evolved into Tanit and then assumed the form of Athena. It is interesting when one analyses the way their historical connection and knowledge travelled throughout Amazighland, Egypt and Greece and contributed to mankind’s constructs and developments, all by means of myths.

Many stories were rewritten and obliterated during the 19th century. In the knowledge that racism, colonialism and nationalism had a tremendous impact on the construction of contemporary Western views, I take a critical attitude to that particular historical canon.

There are very few written sources concerning Amazigh epistemology, but there is abundant knowledge to be found in the oral culture, craft, art and imagination. I try to look for connections in details and everyday matters which together can build a collective futuristic history in the production. So it’s not only a question of finding knowledge and putting it on the stage. I use the lack of documentation and the marginalisation as a source of inspiration in presenting an alternative story.

Tanit/The Moon/Ayyur is the second part of the trilogy. It will have its premiere at the Dream City Festival in Tunis on 5th October 2019. Can you already tell us something about it?

It is a solo made with and for Sondos Belhassen, an actress and one of the pioneers of Tunisian dance. She was my tutor when I studied dance in Tunisia. The transfer of knowledge between us is an important aspect of the production.

Tunis is part of Amazighland; it was the capital of the ancient civilisation of Carthage. In the present Tunisian context, Tanit is still a significant figure and is associated with Carthage. She appears primarily in Amazigh, Punic and Phoenician mythology, where she is worshipped as the goddess of fertility. In the form of Tanit, she represents geometric patterns such as a triangle, circle and lines. She is also often portrayed with the moon above her head.

Tafukt/The Sun/Athena – Radouan Mriziga
première in Kaaitheater May 8 2020

Tanit/The Moon/Ayyur - Radouan Mriziga
Première 05.10.2019 – Tunis, Dream City

PROGRAM

Radouan Mriziga

Depuis 2014, Moussem soutient et produit l’œuvre du chorégraphe et performeur Radouan Mriziga. Après la trilogie 55, 3600 et 7 – des spectacles qui s’articulaient autour de la relation entre mouvement, architecture et composition –, Radouan Mriziga a créé dans le cadre de Moussem Cities Casablanca 8, un spectacle avec deux jeunes danseurs marocains. À présent suit un spectacle jeune public, 8.2, une coproduction de Moussem, hetpaleis et fABULEUS (sélection pour le Theaterfestival et en tournée au cours de la saison 2019-2020). Cette saison s’inscrit sous le signe de la création de sa nouvelle trilogie.

 

Interview 

Après 55, 3600 et 7, Radouan Mriziga crée une nouvelle trilogie qui prend pour point de départ les épistémologies et les mythologies des Imazighen – la population originelle de l’Afrique du Nord.

Pourquoi avez-vous à nouveau choisi la formule de la trilogie ? Pour votre trilogie précédente, avez-vous aussi fait appel au savoir amazigh ?
Une trilogie me permet de travailler plus longtemps sur un sujet. Je n’aime pas me précipiter d’un thème à l’autre ni d’une création à l’autre. En général, j’aime travailler en séries, en fonction de la thématique. J’ai choisi une trilogie parce que je souhaitais travailler autour de trois déesses et avec le système planétaire : le soleil, la terre et la lune. Leur interaction est frappante et d’une importance vitale.

Il n’y a pas d’accent explicite sur le savoir amazigh, mais il fait partie des sources que j’ai utilisées. Par exemple, la géométrie et le rythme qui sont des formes d’art importantes au Maroc, en Afrique du Nord et en Andalousie.

Qu’est-ce qui vous a incité à créer cette œuvre ?
Mes recherches et mes créations précédentes ont avivé et entretenu ma curiosité et l’intérêt que je porte à de grands pans innommés ou effacés de l’histoire générale, ce qui a entraîné par la suite de grandes disparités de pouvoir dans notre système actuel de production et reproduction des connaissances.
Dans ma pratique, l’accent est mis sur trois aspects majeurs : la création d’espaces imaginaires et concrets, la musique et les études amazighes. Ces lignes directrices sont liées à des questions de mise en œuvre, de signification, de hiérarchie, de pertinence et de classification du savoir.

Je m’intéresse aux dynamiques qui régissent le bassin méditerranéen. Sa position géographique intéressante a généré de nombreux échanges avec l’Afrique du Nord, le sud de l’Europe et l’ouest de l’Asie. Nos livres d’histoire se focalisent essentiellement sur les Grecs, les Égyptiens et les Arabes alors qu’il règne une ignorance et une marginalisation énormes sur les Imazighen, qui ont pourtant joué un rôle fondamental dans la région.

Tafukt/The Sun/Athena est la première partie de la série. Quel sera votre point de départ ?
Je pars de manière organique de l’histoire et de la société amazighe, une culture matriarcale. Au cours de mes recherches pour le spectacle 7, qui s’articulait autour des sept merveilles du monde antique, je suis tombé sur les déesses Nithe Tanit et Athéna. Le lac Triton en Libye serait le lieu de naissance de Neith, une déesse qui s’est développée en Tanit et a ensuite pris l’aspect d’Athéna. Il est intéressant d’analyser la façon dont leur lien historique et leur notoriété ont circulé par le biais de mythes à travers les territoires amazighs, l’Égypte et la Grèce et ont contribué aux constructions et évolutions de l’humanité.

Au cours du XIXe siècle, beaucoup d’histoires ont été réécrites, d’autres effacées. Sachant que le racisme, le colonialisme, et le nationalisme ont eu un immense impact sur les perspectives occidentales contemporaines, je reste critique à l’égard de ce canon historique spécifique.

Il existe très peu de sources écrites sur l’épistémologie amazighe, mais la culture orale, l’artisanat, l’art et le pouvoir d’imagination recèlent beaucoup de connaissances. Dans des détails et des situations quotidiennes, j’essaie de chercher des liens susceptibles de construire une histoire collective futuriste dans le spectacle. Il ne s’agit donc pas seulement de prendre de la connaissance et de la porter à la scène. Je me sers du manque de documentation et de la marginalisation comme situation inspirante pour imaginer une histoire alternative.

Tanit/The moon/Ayyur est le deuxième volet d’une trilogie. Le 5 octobre 2019, la première de ce spectacle aura lieu à Tunis, dans le cadre du festival Dream City. Que pouvez-vous déjà dire de ce spectacle ?

Pour ce spectacle, je crée un solo de danse pour et avec Sondos Belhassen. L’une des pionnières dans le domaine de la danse en Tunisie et ma professeure lorsque j’y ai suivi une formation de danse. Elle est également actrice. La transmission de connaissance entre nous est une donnée importante.

Tunis fait partie de l’Amazighland, c’était la capitale de l’ancienne civilisation carthaginoise. Dans la société tunisienne actuelle, Tanit demeure toujours une figure importante associée à Carthage. Elle est surtout évoquée dans la mythologie amazighe, punique et phénicienne où elle fut vénérée comme la déesse de la fertilité. Elle est représentée par des motifs géométriques : par exemple, un triangle, un cercle et des lignes, et souvent avec la lune au-dessus de sa tête.

Tafukt/The Sun/Athena – Radouan Mriziga
première 08.05.2020 Kaaitheater 

Tanit/The Moon/Ayyur - Radouan Mriziga
Première 08.10.2019 – Tunis, Dream City

PROGRAMME