CRITICAL THINKING WITHIN ISLAM #1: Hela Ouardi

Moussem & VUB-Crosstalks

CRITICAL THINKING WITHIN ISLAM #1 : Hela Ouardi
Moussem & VUB-Crosstalks
Lecture (video): Rendering Islam to History
Subtitles available in NL, FR & EN
Publication: Islam, facing its history

Hela Ouardi (Tunis) teaches French literature and civilization at the university of Tunis - Faculty of Letters and Humanities. She is also an associate member of the Laboratoire d'Études sur les Monothéismes at the Centre national de la recherche scientifique in Paris. Her recent work focuses on the early period of Islam, and is based on broad historical research of the sources of the Sunni and Shiite Muslim traditions. She is the author of Les derniers jours de Muhammad (Albin Michel, 2016). Currently, her research focuses on the reign of the first four caliphs of Islam (known among Muslims as the "caliphs who walk the straight path and follow the truth"). She is devoting a series of four historical stories to it, entitled Les Califes maudits (The Cursed Caliphs), the first two volumes of which (La Déchirure [The Rift] and A l'ombre des sabres [In the Shadow of the Swords) were published in 2019 (Albin Michel).

In her lecture titled Rendre l'Islam à l'Histoire (Rendering Islam to History) Hela Ouardi talks about her historical research. In the accompanying text L’islam à l’épreuve de son Histoire (Islam, facing its history), she analyzes the historical genesis, more specifically the founding period of Islam. A turbulent political period that is clearly less rosy than many Muslims portray it. According to Ouardi, the creation of the caliphate during this period marks the birth of political Islam, the consequences of which can be felt until this day.

READ MORE ON THE SERIES CRITICAL THINKING WITHIN ISLAM

Disclaimer
Thoughts and opinions expressed in the lectures and publications belong solely to the author, and not necessarily to the organizations presenting this programme.

 

in collaboration with

CRITICAL THINKING WITHIN ISLAM #1 : Hela Ouardi
Moussem & VUB-Crosstalks
Lecture (video): Rendering Islam to History
Subtitles available in NL, FR & EN
Publication: Islam, facing its history

Hela Ouardi (Tunis) teaches French literature and civilization at the university of Tunis - Faculty of Letters and Humanities. She is also an associate member of the Laboratoire d'Études sur les Monothéismes at the Centre national de la recherche scientifique in Paris. Her recent work focuses on the early period of Islam, and is based on broad historical research of the sources of the Sunni and Shiite Muslim traditions. She is the author of Les derniers jours de Muhammad (Albin Michel, 2016). Currently, her research focuses on the reign of the first four caliphs of Islam (known among Muslims as the "caliphs who walk the straight path and follow the truth"). She is devoting a series of four historical stories to it, entitled Les Califes maudits (The Cursed Caliphs), the first two volumes of which (La Déchirure [The Rift] and A l'ombre des sabres [In the Shadow of the Swords) were published in 2019 (Albin Michel).

In her lecture titled Rendre l'Islam à l'Histoire (Rendering Islam to History) Hela Ouardi talks about her historical research. In the accompanying text L’islam à l’épreuve de son Histoire (Islam, facing its history), she analyzes the historical genesis, more specifically the founding period of Islam. A turbulent political period that is clearly less rosy than many Muslims portray it. According to Ouardi, the creation of the caliphate during this period marks the birth of political Islam, the consequences of which can be felt until this day.

READ MORE ON THE SERIES CRITICAL THINKING WITHIN ISLAM

Disclaimer
Thoughts and opinions expressed in the lectures and publications belong solely to the author, and not necessarily to the organizations presenting this programme.

 

lecture / debate / moussem co-production

LA PENSÉE CRITIQUE EN ISLAM #1 : Hela Ouardi

Moussem & VUB-Crosstalks

LA PENSÉE CRITIQUE EN ISLAM #1 : Hela Ouardi
Moussem & VUB-Crosstalks
Conférence (vidéo) : Rendre l'islam à l'Histoire
Sous-titres disponible en NL, FR & EN
Publication: L’islam à l’épreuve de son Histoire

Hela Ouardi est Professeur des Universités à Tunis où elle enseigne la littérature et la civilisation françaises à la faculté des Lettres, des Arts et des Humanités de la Manouba. Elle est également membre associée au Laboratoire d’Études sur les Monothéismes au CNRS. Ses récents travaux se penchent sur l’histoire des débuts de l’islam à partir d’une exploration philologique des sources de la Tradition musulmane sunnite et shiite. Elle est l’auteur d’un ouvrage sur Les derniers jours de Muhammad (Albin Michel, 2016). Ce livre a rencontré un grand succès (plus de 30.000 exemplaires vendus en un an) et il est sorti en édition poche en novembre 2017. Elle s’intéresse actuellement au règne des quatre premiers califes de l’islam (dits les « califes bien guidés »). Elle leur consacre une série de quatre récits historiques intitulée Les Califes maudits, dont les deux premiers volumes (La Déchirure et A l’ombre des sabres) ont été publiés en 2019 aux éditions Albin Michel.

Dans sa conférence intitulée Rendre l’islam à l’Histoire, Hela Ouardi raconte sa recherche historique. Dans le texte qui accompagne la conférence, L’islam à l’épreuve de son Histoire, elle analyse la genèse historique et plus précisément la période de fondation de l’islam. Une époque houleuse sur le plan politique, nettement moins idyllique que de nombreux musulmans ne l’imaginent. La naissance du califat à cette époque marque selon Ouardi la naissance de l’islam politique, dont les retombées sont tangibles à ce jour.

PLUS D' INFO SUR LA SERIE LA PENSÉE CRITIQUE EN ISLAM

Disclaimer
Les réflexions et les opinions exprimées dans les conférences et les publications n'appartiennent qu'à l'auteur, et pas nécessairement aux organisations qui présentent ce programme.

 

en collaboration avec

LA PENSÉE CRITIQUE EN ISLAM #1 : Hela Ouardi
Moussem & VUB-Crosstalks
Conférence (vidéo) : Rendre l'islam à l'Histoire
Sous-titres disponible en NL, FR & EN
Publication: L’islam à l’épreuve de son Histoire

Hela Ouardi est Professeur des Universités à Tunis où elle enseigne la littérature et la civilisation françaises à la faculté des Lettres, des Arts et des Humanités de la Manouba. Elle est également membre associée au Laboratoire d’Études sur les Monothéismes au CNRS. Ses récents travaux se penchent sur l’histoire des débuts de l’islam à partir d’une exploration philologique des sources de la Tradition musulmane sunnite et shiite. Elle est l’auteur d’un ouvrage sur Les derniers jours de Muhammad (Albin Michel, 2016). Ce livre a rencontré un grand succès (plus de 30.000 exemplaires vendus en un an) et il est sorti en édition poche en novembre 2017. Elle s’intéresse actuellement au règne des quatre premiers califes de l’islam (dits les « califes bien guidés »). Elle leur consacre une série de quatre récits historiques intitulée Les Califes maudits, dont les deux premiers volumes (La Déchirure et A l’ombre des sabres) ont été publiés en 2019 aux éditions Albin Michel.

Dans sa conférence intitulée Rendre l’islam à l’Histoire, Hela Ouardi raconte sa recherche historique. Dans le texte qui accompagne la conférence, L’islam à l’épreuve de son Histoire, elle analyse la genèse historique et plus précisément la période de fondation de l’islam. Une époque houleuse sur le plan politique, nettement moins idyllique que de nombreux musulmans ne l’imaginent. La naissance du califat à cette époque marque selon Ouardi la naissance de l’islam politique, dont les retombées sont tangibles à ce jour.

PLUS D' INFO SUR LA SERIE LA PENSÉE CRITIQUE EN ISLAM

Disclaimer
Les réflexions et les opinions exprimées dans les conférences et les publications n'appartiennent qu'à l'auteur, et pas nécessairement aux organisations qui présentent ce programme.

 

lecture / débat / une co-production moussem