Critical thinkers within Islam

This season VUB-Crosstalks and Moussem set up a lecture series on critical thinkers in Islam. Both Muslim extremists and Islamophobics return to an originally 'pure' Islam in their views on Islam. This 'pure' Islam is said to have originated 1400 years ago, but in reality it did not really exist. Islam was never one block, one movement. On the contrary, Islamic history has always been a very diverse culture, made strong by acculturation and by coming into contact with the Greek, Persian, Indian, African culture, and so on. A history that is also full of dissidence, heresy and rebellion. These sects and alternative theological currents form the basis of a fascinating culture of debate. Philosophers from the classical period of Islam such as Al Farabi, Averroës, Avicenna, Abu Al Alaa Al Ma'ari Abu Bakr Al Razi, Omar Khayyam, Abu Hayyan Al Tawhidi... are the founders of a culture based on reason and science. Many contemporary thinkers have followed their example. In a complex and globalized world, attention to these thinkers today is more than necessary.
The names of the speakers will be announced shortly. Due to the current crisis, the presentation will be fully digital for the time being by means of a video recording, a written presentation and an online question session / debate.

by / with

icw VUB-Crosstalks

This season VUB-Crosstalks and Moussem set up a lecture series on critical thinkers in Islam. Both Muslim extremists and Islamophobics return to an originally 'pure' Islam in their views on Islam. This 'pure' Islam is said to have originated 1400 years ago, but in reality it did not really exist. Islam was never one block, one movement. On the contrary, Islamic history has always been a very diverse culture, made strong by acculturation and by coming into contact with the Greek, Persian, Indian, African culture, and so on. A history that is also full of dissidence, heresy and rebellion. These sects and alternative theological currents form the basis of a fascinating culture of debate. Philosophers from the classical period of Islam such as Al Farabi, Averroës, Avicenna, Abu Al Alaa Al Ma'ari Abu Bakr Al Razi, Omar Khayyam, Abu Hayyan Al Tawhidi... are the founders of a culture based on reason and science. Many contemporary thinkers have followed their example. In a complex and globalized world, attention to these thinkers today is more than necessary.
The names of the speakers will be announced shortly. Due to the current crisis, the presentation will be fully digital for the time being by means of a video recording, a written presentation and an online question session / debate.

literature / debate / moussem co-production

Penseurs critiques au sein de l'Islam

Cette saison, VUB-Crosstalks et Moussem présentent une série de conférences sur les penseurs critiques de l'Islam. Tant les extrémistes musulmans que les islamophobes reviennent à un islam initialement "pur" dans leur vision de cette religion. Cet islam "pur" serait né il y a 1400 ans, mais en réalité n'a pas vraiment existé. L'Islam n'a jamais été un bloc, un courant. Au contraire, l'histoire de l'Islam a toujours été une culture très diverse, rendue forte par l'acculturation et par le contact avec la culture grecque, perse, indienne, africaine, etc. Une histoire qui est aussi pleine de dissidence, d'hérésie et de rébellion. Ces sectes et ces courants théologiques alternatifs forment la base d'une culture fascinante de débat. Les philosophes de la période classique de l'Islam tels que Al Farabi, Averroës, Avicenne, Abu Al Alaa Al Ma'ari Abu Bakr Al Razi, Omar Khayyam, Abu Hayyan Al Tawhidi... sont les fondateurs d'une culture basée sur la raison et la science. De nombreux penseurs contemporains ont suivi leur exemple. Dans un monde complexe et globalisé, il est aujourd'hui plus que nécessaire de prêter attention à ces penseurs.
Les noms des invités seront annoncés prochainement. En raison de la crise actuelle, la présentation sera pour l'instant entièrement digitale au moyen d'un enregistrement vidéo, d'une présentation écrite et d'une séance de questions / débat en ligne.

de / avec

eca VUB-Crosstalks

Cette saison, VUB-Crosstalks et Moussem présentent une série de conférences sur les penseurs critiques de l'Islam. Tant les extrémistes musulmans que les islamophobes reviennent à un islam initialement "pur" dans leur vision de cette religion. Cet islam "pur" serait né il y a 1400 ans, mais en réalité n'a pas vraiment existé. L'Islam n'a jamais été un bloc, un courant. Au contraire, l'histoire de l'Islam a toujours été une culture très diverse, rendue forte par l'acculturation et par le contact avec la culture grecque, perse, indienne, africaine, etc. Une histoire qui est aussi pleine de dissidence, d'hérésie et de rébellion. Ces sectes et ces courants théologiques alternatifs forment la base d'une culture fascinante de débat. Les philosophes de la période classique de l'Islam tels que Al Farabi, Averroës, Avicenne, Abu Al Alaa Al Ma'ari Abu Bakr Al Razi, Omar Khayyam, Abu Hayyan Al Tawhidi... sont les fondateurs d'une culture basée sur la raison et la science. De nombreux penseurs contemporains ont suivi leur exemple. Dans un monde complexe et globalisé, il est aujourd'hui plus que nécessaire de prêter attention à ces penseurs.
Les noms des invités seront annoncés prochainement. En raison de la crise actuelle, la présentation sera pour l'instant entièrement digitale au moyen d'un enregistrement vidéo, d'une présentation écrite et d'une séance de questions / débat en ligne.

littérature / débat / une co-production moussem