Moussem Collection

Moussem – collection

Mu.ZEE 28.09.19 > 05.01.2020 Younes Baba-Ali - 'Short Cut'
vernissage 28.09.19 - 15:00

M HKA 29.05.20 > 30.08.20 Basim Magdy

Today, an animated and difficult debate is raging in Europe about the continent's colonial past and the robbery of heritage and art treasures from colonised nations. In collections of many European museums, works of art can be found that have been stolen or at least landed there in a dubious way. Meanwhile, there's the Savoy-Sarr Report in France, on the restitution of African heritage, while the reopening of the 'Africa Museum' in Tervuren has been seen by many as a missed opportunity to conduct a thorough debate on Belgium's colonial past.

Europe and the West continue to dominate the art market today, but the advance of other centres and networks is redefining the power balance in the art world worldwide. Access to European biennials, art centres and museums for artists and curators from the south is still limited. But while the old generations of artists from the south longed for recognition by Europe, many young artists cherish their autonomy and refuse to submit to the demands and expectations of the European scene. They show their work in the Middle East, Africa and Asia without feeling the need to pass through Paris or London to make a career. New South-South exchanges and networks are taking shape, making these power shifts insurmountable.

The impact of globalisation and migration on Europe and the rest of the world has become irreversible today. In many super-diverse European cities, the (power) relationships between 'majority culture' and 'minorities' are shifting. The new citizens are carriers of multiple identities and frames of reference. In addition to a reflection on a shared past, the construction of a new common future is nowadays paramount. We need new narratives and a new common heritage that connects the past with the present. This can only be achieved if we dare to ask a few questions, like: How can new citizens appropriate the local history and add a new paragraph? Who has the power in our art institutions and who determines what is represented and how? How can we come up with multiple stories and images that can be representative of the diversity of the world, far from ethnographic and Eurocentric approaches?

With the Moussem Collection project, we try to formulate answers to these pertinent questions, together with our partners M HKA in Antwerp and Mu.ZEE in Ostend.

Mu.ZEE
With Mu.ZEE in Ostend, Moussem focuses as from this season on young artists with a link to the MENA region, with extra attention for those who are active in Belgium. A young artist is invited every year as part of the Enter project, to show work in Mu.ZEE. A purchase of her/his work for the permanent collection will then follow. The first result of this engagement will be visible to the public from September 28th 2019 on, with an exhibition around the work of Younes Baba-Ali.

Portfolio Younes Baba-Ali

www.younesbabaali.com

M HKA
Together with M HKA/Museum of Contemporary Art Antwerp, Moussem continues to build on the multifaceted joint project Zonder Titel (Without Title) that was realised in 2007. This resulted, among other things, in the inclusion of work by 6 artists from North Africa in M HKA's permanent collection. Both partners are committed to a far-reaching cooperation around collection building in the coming years. Every year, an artist is supported, followed by an exhibition in the museum. Moussem and M HKA subsequently purchase work in co-ownership, which is given a place in M KHA's permanent collection. The project starts in may 2020 with artist Basim Magdy.

www.basimmagdy.com 

visual arts / moussem co-production

29/05/20 - 30/08/20
28/09/19 - 12/01/20

Moussem Collection

Moussem – collection

Mu.ZEE 28.09.19 > 05.01.2020 Younes Baba-Ali - 'Short Cut'
vernissage 28.09.19 - 15:00

M HKA 29.05.20 > 30.08.20 Basim Magdy

En route vers le canon du futur

À l’heure actuelle, un débat complexe agite l’Europe sur le passé colonial du continent et sur le pillage du patrimoine et de trésors artistiques des nations colonisées. Les collections de multiples musées européens recèlent des chefs-d’œuvre volés ou qui ont tout du moins abouti là de manière douteuse. Entre-temps, il y a le rapport Savoy-Sarr en France sur la restitution du patrimoine africain et la réouverture chez nous de l’’Africa Museum’ à Tervueren, que beaucoup considèrent comme une occasion manquée de mener un débat de fond sur le passé colonial de la Belgique.

Si à ce jour l’Europe et l’Occident demeurent dominants sur le marché de l’art, la progression d’autres centres et réseaux redessine néanmoins les rapports de force au niveau mondial. En Europe, l’accès aux biennales, aux centres d’art et aux musées reste toujours limité pour des artistes et des commissaires d’expositions du Sud. Mais alors que les anciennes générations d’artistes aspiraient à la reconnaissance, bon nombre de jeunes artistes chérissent leur autonomie et refusent de se soumettre aux exigences et aux attentes de la scène européenne. Ils exposent leur œuvre au Moyen-Orient, en Afrique et en Asie sans ressentir le besoin de passer par Paris ou par Londres pour faire carrière. Les nouveaux échanges et réseaux sud-sud prennent corps et pavent inexorablement la voie de changements de pouvoir.

L’impact de la mondialisation et de la migration est désormais irréversible, tant en Europe que dans le reste du monde. Dans de nombreuses villes européennes super-diverses, les rapports (de force) entre la « culture majoritaire » et les « minorités » sont en train de changer. Les nouveaux citoyens sont porteurs d’identités plurielles et de cadres de référence variés. Outre la réflexion sur un passé partagé, la construction d’un nouvel avenir commun est désormais primordiale. Il nous faut de nouveaux récits ainsi qu’un nouveau patrimoine commun qui relie le passé au présent. Cela peut seulement se réaliser si nous osons poser certaines questions. Comment les nouveaux citoyens peuvent-ils s’approprier l’histoire locale et y ajouter un nouveau paragraphe ? Qui détient du pouvoir dans nos institutions artistiques et qui détermine ce qui est présenté et de quelle façon ? Comment pouvons-nous inventer une pluralité de récits et d’images susceptibles d’être représentatifs de la diversité du monde, loin d’approches ethnographiques et eurocentristes ?
Avec le projet de Collection Moussem, nous tentons – avec nos partenaires, le M HKA et Mu.ZEE – de formuler des réponses à ces questions pertinentes.

Mu.ZEE
Avec Mu.ZEE, Moussem se concentre sur de jeunes artistes liés à la région MENA (Middle East and North Africa), avec une attention particulière pour ceux qui sont actifs en Belgique. A partir de cette saison, nous inviterons chaque année un jeune artiste à exposer à Mu.ZEE dans le cadre du projet Enter. Ensuite, des œuvres seront achetée et intégreront la collection permanente. Le premier résultat de cet engagement sera présenté au public à partir du 28 septembre 2019, avec une exposition autour de l’œuvre de Younes Baba-Ali.

Portfolio Younes Baba-Ali

www.younesbabaali.com

M HKA
Moussem poursuit l’édification du projet commun et multiple Sans Titre amorcé en 2007 avec le Musée d’Art contemporain d’Anvers et qui a donné lieu, entre autres, à l’intégration d’œuvres de six artistes d’Afrique du Nord dans la collection permanente. À présent, les deux organisations s’engagent à un partenariat étendu autour de la construction de la collection. Chaque année, nous soutiendrons conjointement un artiste qui présentera ensuite une exposition au musée, dont Moussem et le M HKA acquerront une œuvre en copropriété et celle-ci intégrera la collection permanente du musée. Le projet débute en mai 2020 avec l’artiste Basim Magdy.
www.basimmagdy.com 

 

art visuel / une co-production moussem

29/05/20 - 30/08/20
28/09/19 - 12/01/20