Randa Mirza

/

Moussem Vitrine

visual arts
a moussem production

Randa Mirza (Beirut 1978) lives and works between Marseille and Beirut. Randa Mirza is a visual artist working mainly with photo's and video. In 2006, she won the No Limit prize at the Rencontres de la photographie d'Arles, an international award that rewards a photographer or an artist using photography, who by his or her work helps to push the boundaries of photographic expression. Through her work, Mirza questions the nature of images and their social uses. On the subtle border between fiction and reality, she manipulates the photographic image to reveal the discourses inherent in all representations

Randa Mirza presents 'Leave all compromises behind' as par of Moussem Vitrine.

Randa Mirza
Leave all compromises behind (2018)
From the series Beirutopia
185cmx135cm
Pigment print on photo paper
Edition 1/3 + 2 AP

BEIRUTOPIA is a projection, a portrait of the Beirut of the future. The photographic series raises questions about the future of the Lebanese capital, through the characteristics and representations associated with it.

Since the end of the Lebanese civil war in 1990, Beirut – long referred to as the Switzerland of the Middle East – has sought to renew its myth of a glamorous city at the crossroads of East and West. Currently, the city is experiencing a real estate boom, controlled by the inflow of foreign capital, and significant speculation. To market the projects under construction, the developers place – in situ – huge billboards representing the building in its final phase. These posters are not only simulacra but biopolitical representations, that is, they show a certain form of power that is being exercised over people's lives. In an illusory way, they simulate or even impose the building – including its environment, its interiors, its inhabitants and their lifestyle.

The photographs of BEIRUTOPIA are mise-en-abîmes of these advertising posters representing the virtual building, framed by the real space in which it is located. The overlapping of virtual and real situations gives the photographs a sense of uncanniness, which reflects the current transformation of the city. This strangeness is enhanced by the photographic framing, a game with differences in scale that constitutes a critical reading of the city's development.

www.randamirza.com

Randa Mirza

/

Moussem Vitrine

art visuel
une production moussem
gratuit 02/05/18 30/06/18
Moussem
Galerie Ravenstein 46
1000 Bruxelles
Website

Randa Mirza est née à Beyrouth en 1978 et travaille entre Marseille et Beyrouth. Elle est une artiste visuelle travaillant principalement le medium photographique et la vidéo. Elle obtient en 2006 le prix No Limit aux Rencontres Photographiques d’Arles, un prix internationale qui récompense un photographe ou un artiste utilisant la photographie, qui par son travail, contribue à repousser les limites de l'expression photographique. A travers son œuvre, Mirza interroge la nature des images et leurs utilisations sociales. Elle manipule l’image photographique pour révéler les discours inhérents à toutes représentations, à la frontière ténue entre fiction et réalité.

Randa Mirza présente 'Leave all compromises behind' dans le cadre de Moussem Vitrine.

Randa Mirza
Leave all compromises behind (2018)
From the series Beirutopia
185cmx135cm
Pigment print on photo paper 
Edition 1/3 + 2 AP

BEIRUTOPIA, est une projection du portrait de l’avenir de la ville de Beyrouth. La série photographique soulève des questions sur le devenir de la capitale libanaise, à travers les caractéristiques et les représentations qu’on lui associe.

Depuis la fin de la guerre civile Libanaise en 1990, Beyrouth cherche à renouveler son mythe d’une ville glamour, à la charnière de l’Orient et de l’Occident, longtemps désigné sous la dénomination de la Suisse du Moyen-Orient. Actuellement, la ville connaît une effervescence de projets immobiliers, contrôlée par l’entrée de capitaux étrangers et une importante spéculation. Pour commercialiser les projets en construction, les développeurs placent, in situ, d’énormes panneaux publicitaires représentant le bâtiment dans sa phase finale. Ces affiches sont non seulement des simulacres mais des représentations bio-politisées, c’est-à-dire identifiant une forme de pouvoir sur la vie des gens. De manière illusoire, elles simulent, voire imposent le bâtiment, son environnement, ses intérieurs, ses habitants et leur style de vie.

Les photographies de BEIRUTOPIA sont des mises en abime de ces affiches publicitaires représentant l’immeuble virtuel, encadré depuis l’espace réel dans lequel il se trouve. Le croisement des situations virtuelle et réelle confère aux photographies un sentiment d’une inquiétante étrangeté reflétant la transformation actuelle de la ville. Cette étrangeté est valorisée par le cadrage photographique, un jeu d’échelles et de plans constituant une lecture critique du développement de la ville.

www.randamirza.com