SOLITARY CONFINEMENT

Strange Fruit

dance/theater

by / with

created with & performed by Duraid Abbas, Amar Al Bojrad, Sarah Eisa, Guy Van Nueten – design Jan De Brabander – coach Willy Thomas – production Strange Fruit & Moussem

‘L'enfer, c'est les autres’ (Hell is other people), said Sartre. ‘L'enfer, c'est le manque des autres’ (Hell is the absence of other people) counters Dirk De Wachter today. The young dance-theatre company Strange Fruit explores the latter notion – isolation – in its new presentation Solitary Confinement.

Solitary Confinement is a piece on the psychological consequences of prolonged isolation. In our society, excessive individualism and the glorification of self-interest increasingly lead to social isolation. This stands in stark contrast to what Duraid Abbas and Al Amar Bojrad have experienced in their childhood. In the Middle East, one is constantly surrounded by family and friends. Several generations live together under one roof. Fascinated with these differences, they take a close look, together with Sarah Eisa and composer Guy Van Nueten, at loneliness, and try to examine and understand its possible consequences. How does being alone, preoccupied with just oneself, affect a person? What is it like to live isolated from others? Never to feel the touch of another person? Not to be able to exchange ideas?

In this highly expressive dance theatre, Strange Fruit creates a pervasive atmosphere that confronts the viewer with this unnatural human condition.

Strange Fruit is the young company formed by Amar Al Bojrad, performer Duraid Abbas and Sarah Eisa. The house company of the Moussem Nomadic Art Center creates productions that explore the boundaries between dance and theatre, installation and performance. For the presentation Solitary Confinement, they have collaborated with composer Guy Van Nueten.

theater / dance / a moussem production

ARTISTS IN RESIDENCE

SOLITARY CONFINEMENT

Strange Fruit

danse/théâtre

de / avec

créé avec & exécuté par Duraid Abbas, Amar Al Bojrad, Sarah Eisa, Guy Van Nueten – stylisme Jan De Brabander – coach Willy Thomas – production Strange Fruit & Moussem

« L’enfer, c’est les autres », affirme Sartre. « L’enfer, c’est le manque des autres », réplique aujourd’hui Dirk De Wachter. La jeune compagnie de danse et de théâtre Strange Fruit interroge cette dernière donnée – l’isolement – dans son nouveau spectacle Solitary Confinement.

Solitary Confinement parle des conséquences psychologiques d’un isolement prolongé. Dans notre société, un individualisme exacerbé et l’exaltation de l’intérêt personnel conduisent à une solitude de plus en plus poussée – une situation qui contraste du tout au tout avec ce que Duraid Abbas et Amar Al Bojrad ont connu dans leur jeunesse. Au Moyen-Orient, on est constamment entouré par la famille et les amis. Plusieurs générations y vivent sous le même toit. Partant d’un étonnement devant ces différences, et en collaboration avec Sarah Eisa et le compositeur Guy Van Nueten, ils dirigent leur regard sur la solitude et tentent d’en explorer et d’en comprendre les possibles conséquences. Que devient-il d’un être humain qui n’est exclusivement préoccupé que de lui-même ? Qui vit dans la séparation d’avec les autres ? Qui n’est au contact d’aucun autre humain ? Qui est sans échange d’idées ?

Par un spectacle de danse-théâtre très visuel, Strange Fruit crée une atmosphère pénétrante qui confronte le spectateur à cette « condition humaine » contre nature.

Strange Fruit, autour d’Amar Al Bojrad, le performeur Duraid Abbas et Sarah Eisa, est la compagnie permanente de Moussem Centre Nomade des Arts. Ses créations se meuvent sur les frontières entre danse et théâtre, installation et performance. Pour Solitary Confinement, Strange Fruit s’est attaché la collaboration du compositeur Guy Van Nueten.

théâtre / danse / une production moussem

ARTISTES EN RÉSIDENCE