MOUSSEM CITIES ALGIERS

With the multidisciplinary festival Moussem Cities, Moussem and its Brussels partners are focusing on a metropolis in the MENA region – as is the case every year. These are cities with a rich and culturally diverse history, but especially cities that, thanks to their artistic dynamics, play a vital role in contemporary societies. Moussem Cities is a platform for local and diaspora artists that touches on universal themes and focuses on the local artistic context, while fostering an exchange with Brussels.

After our editions around Tunis, Beirut, Casablanca and Damascus, we now invite you to discover Algiers. Founded in the 4th century B.C. as a Phoenician colony on Amazigh soil, Algiers was occupied consecutively by the Romans, the Vandals, the Byzantines, the Arabs, the Turks and the French. Algiers is a port city and an historical crossroads at the intersection of the Arab-Amazigh, European and African world. It's also its political and economic centre, playing an important role in Algerian and Maghreb cultural life.

After the independence of Algeria in 1962, Algiers became the capital of all postcolonial utopias. It became the Mecca of revolutionaries worldwide in the 1970s, and a leading city of the Non-Aligned Movement during the Cold War, and it hosted the 1st Pan African Festival in 1969. The Algerian capital is now one of the largest cities in the Maghreb. It is the city of youth, despair and hope. More than a third of its population is under 20 years old. It is this young generation that recently has surprised the world, coming out massively on the capital's streets to demand political and social reforms and to breathe new life into the Arab Spring.

Algiers' historical richness and its cultural mix is very clearly reflected in its artistic expressions. Algiers is the city where the old medina, the kasbah, exists side by side with remarkably Haussmann architecture, built by the French colonial power. Algiers is also the city that gave birth to the most popular musical genre throughout Algeria: the chaabi. Despite the state's decade-long hold on cultural life, today we are witnessing the emergence of an independent scene in different artistic disciplines.

The programme will be revealed in December 2019

Read author Ameziane Ferhani on Algiers

01/02/20 - 29/02/20
Brussels

ARTISTS IN RESIDENCE

MOUSSEM CITIES ALGIERS

Avec le festival pluridisciplinaire Moussem Cities, Moussem et ses partenaires bruxellois se focalisent, comme chaque année, sur une métropole de la region MENA. Des villes avec une histoire riche et culturellement diverse, mais surtout des villes qui jouent un rôle vital dans les sociétés contemporaines, grâce à leur dynamique artistique. Moussem Cities est une plate-forme pour des artistes locaux et de la diaspora, touchant à des thematiques universelles, levant la voile sur le contexte artistique local et alimentant un échange avec Bruxelles.
Après les éditions autour de Tunis, Beyrouth, Casablanca et Damas, nous vous invitons à découvrir Alger. Fondée au 4ème siècle av. J.-C., comme comptoir phénicien en pays amazigh, elle est occupée consécutivement par les Romains, les Vandales, les Byzantins et les Arabes, les Turques et les français. Alger est une ville portuaire et carrefour historique à l’intersection du monde arabo- amazigh, européen et africain, et aussi le centre politique et économique, jouant un rôle important dans la vie culturelle algérienne et maghrébine.
Alger devient après l’indépendance de l’Algérie en 1962 la capitale de toutes les utopies postcoloniales. Elle devient ainsi la Mecque des révolutionnaires du monde dans les années 70 , une ville phare du mouvement des non-alignés pendant la guerre froide, et accueille le 1er Festival panafricain en 1969. La capitale algérienne est aujourd’hui une des plus grandes métropoles au Maghreb. C’est la ville des jeunes, du désespoir et de l’espoir. Plus d’un tiers de la population a moins de 20 ans et c’est cette jeune génération qui a surpris le monde récemment, en sortant massivement dans les rues de la capitale pour réclamer des réformes politiques et sociales et donner un nouveau souffle aux printemps arabes.
La richesse historique et le brassage culturel d’Alger est bien remarquable dans ses expressions artistiques. Alger est la ville où l’ancienne médina, la Kasbah, côtoie remarquablement des immeubles haussmanniens édifiés par la puissance coloniale française. Alger est aussi la ville qui a donné naissance au genre musical le plus populaire de toute l’Algérie : le chaâbi ou la musique populaire algérienne. Malgré la mainmise de l’Etat sur la vie culturelle pendant des décennies, nous assistons de nos jours à l’émergence d’une scène indépendante dans différentes disciplines artistiques.

Le programme sera dévoilé en décembre 2019

 Lisez le texte de l'auteur Ameziane Ferhani sur Algers

01/02/20 - 29/02/20
Bruxelles

ARTISTES EN RÉSIDENCE