Moussem Cities Damascus

Moussem Cities 2019 takes Damascus as starting point for the multidisciplinary festival


The urban cycle Moussem Cities has grown into a presentation and dialogue platform for a wide audience that makes it possible for a similar exchange with artists from a specific region. A platform that touches on shared universal themes, gives insight into the local artistic context and fosters an exchange with Brussels.
It is no surprise that today’s events in the world give an inevitable overtone to this edition. Moussem Cities 2019 will also welcome Syrian artists, curators and cultural actors to join in shaping the festival that can exhibit their essential work and commitment in a fitting context.
Moussem Cities hasn’t opted for Damascus from a nostalgic perspective, neither does it wish to normalise the geographic location. We see Damascus as a concept and a mental window through which we can draw attention to the artistic scene of a region and the theatre-makers from the diaspora.
We want the pertinent, vital voice of artists from Damascus, Syria and the Syrian diaspora to be heard. Voices that must be documented to ensure that the stories and traditions are not lost forever amidst the violence.

01/02/19 - 28/02/19
Brussels

Moussem Cities Damascus

Le festival pluridisciplinaire Moussem Cities 2019 a pour point de départ Damas

Le cycle annuel autour d’une ville, Moussem Cities, s’est mué en présentation et plate-forme de dialogue destinées à un large public faisant la place belle à des échanges équitables avec des artistes d’une région spécifique. Une plate-forme touchant des thèmes universels, levant le voile sur le contexte artistique local et alimentant un échange avec Bruxelles.
Il est évident que l’actualité apporte une charge inévitable à cette édition. Moussem Cities 2019 invitera aussi des artistes plasticiens, des commissaires d’expositions et acteurs culturels syriens à composer le programme pour que leur travail et leur engagement bénéficient d’un contexte adéquat.
Moussem Cities ne choisit pas Damas à partir d’une perspective nostalgique, et ne veut pas normaliser le lieu, mais voit cette ville comme un concept et une fenêtre mentale qui braquent les projecteurs sur la scène artistique d’une région et sur des créateurs de la diaspora.
Nous voulons faire entendre la voix pressante d’artistes de Damas en Syrie et de la diaspora syrienne afin que les récits et traces ne se perdent pas dans la violence.

Le programme sera dévoilé en décembre 2018.

01/02/19 - 28/02/19
Bruxelles