Ballaké Sissoko – Göksel Baktagir

Qanun Dialogues

Griot Ballaké Sissoko is descended from a family of kora masters – the 21-string lute-bridge-harp from the Mandinka culture. Sissoko was only 13 when he joined the Ensemble Instrumental National du Mali, the orchestra led by his father. He grew to become a much demanded musician either as soloist or when playing alongside artists such as Toumani Diabaté, Taj Mahal, Ludovico Einaudi and Vincent Ségal. His international reputation is down to the delicacy and complexity of his playing and his incredible talent for improvisation.
Musical prodigy Göksel Baktagir has become a much-acclaimed productive composer and has already some 400 works to his name. He has travelled the world as one of Turkey’s master qanun players, the instrument which in his playing he explores its possibilities and pushes back borders and which he has also introduced in genres such as jazz and new age. An evening in which two subtle musical worlds meet and enter into dialogue with one another. 

Part of the Qanun Dialogues concertseries

قانون (Qanun) means "law" in Arabic. The instrument was given its name because it sets the pitch for the other instruments and singer in traditional ensembles. Although the qanun can be traced as far back as the 10th century and originates from the Middle-East, it is also played in the Maghreb, West Africa and Central Asia as well as in the southeast of Europe. Even today, the 78-string trapeze-shaped wooden instrument still plays a key role in Arab and Turkish classical music. This season Moussem and BOZAR proudly present leading qanun players in ensemble, in duo and in solo concerts.

music / guest

Ballaké Sissoko – Göksel Baktagir

Qanun Dialogues

Le griot Ballaké Sissoko est issu d’une famille de maîtres du kora, harpe-luth à 21 cordes d’origine mandingue. Ballaké Sissoko a intégré à 13 ans l’Ensemble Instrumental National du Mali, dont son père a été membre-fondateur et directeur. Devenu depuis un instrumentiste très sollicité, il multiplie les performances en solo ou aux côtés d’artistes comme Toumani Diabaté, Taj Mahal, Ludovico Einaudi et Vincent Segal. Il doit sa réputation internationale au raffinement et à la complexité de son jeu et à son talent d’improvisation inégalé.
Göksel Baktagir, autre prodige de la musique et compositeur prolifique, a dans l’intervalle réalisé plus de 400 œuvres. Il a parcouru le monde et est l’un des virtuoses du qanun de Turquie, instrument dont il teste les possibilités et limites dans son jeu et l’ouvre à des styles comme le jazz et le new age. Une soirée lors de laquelle deux mondes musicaux se retrouvent et entrent en dialogue. 

Dans le cadre de la série de concerts Qanun Dialogues

قانون (Qanun) veut dire « loi » en arabe. L’instrument fut baptisé ainsi, car il donne dans les ensembles traditionnels la note des autres instruments et du chanteur. Le qanun date du 10e siècle au moins et est originaire du Moyen-Orient, mais se joue également au Maghreb, en Afrique de l’Ouest, en Asie centrale et dans le sud-est de l’Europe. L’instrument en bois, de forme trapézoïdale, composé de 78 cordes, joue aujourd’hui encore un rôle essentiel dans le monde de la musique classique arabe et turque. Moussem et BOZAR présentent cette saison de grands joueurs de qanun en ensemble, en duo et en solo.

musique / invité