Kudsi Erguner & Lâmekân Ensemble

Enchanting Tarab

The ney is a flute from the Middle East with a hypnotic, nearly mystical sound. In its long history the instrument has played a primary role in the Sufi tradition, an aid for the Sufi mystic in his search for divine inspiration.
While Kudsi Erguner is an absolute virtuoso of the ney flute and performs the authentic repertoire in a masterly fashion, he also improvises and experiments and this has resulted in his collaborating with Peter Gabriel, Maurice Béjart, Peter Brook and many others. For this concert, Erguner will be joined by the Lâmekân Ensemble. Lâmekân – which means as much as “non-place”: a state of spiritual exaltation – is a young Turkish-European sextet that specialises in playing Turkish traditional music. Led by musicologist and oud player Tristan Driessens, Lâmekân makes the vibrant times of the Ottoman Empire seem nearly tangible.

Part of the Enchanting Tarab concertseries

‘Tarab’ is a key concept within the broad Arab musical tradition. It is the experience of liberating ecstasy when music and poetry, emotion and atmosphere, performers and audience become one. Central to the tarab experience is the sublime form of singing, immortalized by the mythical Oum Kalthoum. This second season in the tarab series, presented by Moussem and BOZAR, will feature prominent ensembles and performers from Morocco, Tanzania, Egypt and Turkey.

music / guest

Kudsi Erguner & Lâmekân Ensemble

Enchanting Tarab

Kudsi Erguner & Lâmekân Ensemble

Le ney est une flûte du Moyen-Orient à la sonorité mystérieuse et envoûtante, qui a joué un rôle central dans la tradition soufie, outil du soufie mystique utilisé dans la quête d’une divine inspiration.
Kudsi Erguner est un véritable virtuose du ney, qui joue un répertoire authentique avec brio, mais improvise et expérimente également. Il a collaboré avec des artistes comme Peter Gabriel, Maurice Béjart, Peter Brook et bien d’autres encore. Pour ce concert, Erguner jouit du soutien de l’Ensemble Lâmekân. Lâmekân – qui signifie « non-lieu », un état d’élévation de l’esprit – est un jeune sextuor turco-européen qui se consacre à la musique classique turque. Sous la direction du musicologue et joueur d’oud Tristan Driessens, Lâmekân rend presque tangible la vie animé à l’époque de l’Empire ottoman.

 

Dans le cadre de la série de concerts Enchanting Tarab

Tarab est un concept clé dans la vaste tradition musicale arabe. Il désigne l’expérience de conscience élargie ressentie quand tout coïncide : musique, poésie, émotion et ambiance, mais aussi la connexion absolue entre les musiciens et le public. Le chant occupe une place centrale dans le tarab, sous une forme noble perpétuée par la mythique Oum Kalthoum. Dans cette deuxième saison de la série tarab présentée par Moussem et BOZAR, des ensembles et interprètes de renom sont mis en avant du Maroc, de Tanzanie, d’Égypte et de Turquie.

musique / invité