Jelena Jureša

APHASIA

In medical terms, APHASIA refers to a condition that robs you of the ability to speak or to find the words to form a complete sentence. APHASIA, the performance, reconstructs an evening in a nightclub, in a post-war region, some thirty years after the war. A woman dancing in the sweaty, partying crowd suddenly recognizes the DJ. She carefully studies his movements, comparing them then and today, and she gradually makes out the face of a war criminal who was never convicted: “the man who kicks the dead”. Together with musicians Alen and Nenad Sinkauz and dancer cum actress Ivana Jozić, Jureša questions the dynamics of polarization, compliance with authority and the lure of group violence. In the setting of a night club, she brings us face-to-face with the absurdity of the collective silence that so often surrounds crime. A central role is set aside here for the bystanders. What does it mean to be a witness? To participate tacitly in violence?

by / with

Concept and direction: Jelena Jureša | Performers: Ivana Jozić, Alen Sinkauz, Nenad Sinkauz | Choreography: Ivana Jozić and Quan Bui Ngoc | Music: Alen and Nenad Sinkauz | Sound design: Hrvoje Pelicarić | Text adaptation: Asa Mendelsohn, based on a monologue by Barbara Matejčić (Aphasia film and film installation, 2019) | Dramaturgical advice: Thomas Bellinck and Sara Oklobdžija | Film archives: Royal Belgian Film Archive (CINEMATEK), Filmarchiv Austria, International Criminal Tribunal for the former Yugoslavia (ICTY), Österreichische Mediathek, ZDF archive Berlin | Video concept and editing: Jelena Jureša | Visual effects: Dejan Šolajić | Set design: Stef Stessel | Light design: Stef Stessel, Simon Neels | Scientific advice: Christophe Busch | Technical director: Simon Neels | Technical support: Maxim Maes | Programming: Merel Vercoutere (KAAP) | Project coordinators: Sandra Raes Oklobdžija (ROBIN) & Rolf Quaghebeur (KAAP) | Production support: Kaat Balfoort, Jachym Vandenabeele
Production: KAAP in collaboration with ROBIN | Coproduction: Kunstenfestivaldesarts, ROBIN, De Singel, Workspacebrussels, Hannah Arendt Institute | Developed in Co-laBo | With the support of: Vlaamse Overheid, MOUSSEM, Nomadic Art Centre, Royal Academy of Fine Arts (KASK), School of Arts of University College Ghent
This performance is developed from the film project APHASIA, 2019

In medical terms, APHASIA refers to a condition that robs you of the ability to speak or to find the words to form a complete sentence. APHASIA, the performance, reconstructs an evening in a nightclub, in a post-war region, some thirty years after the war. A woman dancing in the sweaty, partying crowd suddenly recognizes the DJ. She carefully studies his movements, comparing them then and today, and she gradually makes out the face of a war criminal who was never convicted: “the man who kicks the dead”. Together with musicians Alen and Nenad Sinkauz and dancer cum actress Ivana Jozić, Jureša questions the dynamics of polarization, compliance with authority and the lure of group violence. In the setting of a night club, she brings us face-to-face with the absurdity of the collective silence that so often surrounds crime. A central role is set aside here for the bystanders. What does it mean to be a witness? To participate tacitly in violence?

performance / moussem co-production

12/05/22 - 14/05/22
Kunstenfestivaldesarts

Jelena Jureša

APHASIA

APHASIA désigne en termes médicaux l’incapacité de parler ou de trouver les mots exacts. APHASIA reconstitue une soirée au cœur d’une boîte de nuit, dans une ville ayant connu la guerre, une trentaine d’années après celle-ci. Parmi la foule en sueur qui fait la fête, une femme qui danse reconnaît soudainement le DJ. Elle observe attentivement ses mouvements, les comparant à ceux qu’elle a connus il y a trente ans, et reconnaît petit à petit le visage d’un criminel de guerre qui n’a jamais été condamné : « l’homme qui donne des coups de pied aux morts ». Dans APHASIA, Jureša, accompagnée des musiciens Alen et Nenad Sinkauz et de la danseuse-comédienne Ivana Jozić, questionne les dynamiques de polarisation, d’obéissance à l’autorité et la tentation de la violence de groupe. Dans un décor de boîte de nuit, elle nous confronte à l’absurdité qui résulte du silence collectif entourant des crimes et dans lequel les passant·es jouent un rôle central. Que signifie être un·e témoin et un·e participant·e silencieux·euse à la violence ?

de / avec

Concept et mise en scène : Jelena Jureša | Performeur·ses : Ivana Jozić, Alen Sinkauz, Nenad Sinkauz | Chorégraphie : Ivana Jozić et Quan Bui Ngoc | Musique : Alen et Nenad Sinkauz | Son : Hrvoje Pelicarić | Adaptation des textes : Asa Mendelsohn, basés sur un monologue de Barbara Matejčić (Aphasia film et installation filmique, 2019) | Conseils dramaturgiques : Thomas Bellinck et Sara Oklobdžija | Archives cinématographiques : Royal Belgian Film Archive (CINEMATEK), Filmarchiv Austria, International Criminal Tribunal for the former Yugoslavia (ICTY), Österreichische Mediathek, ZDF archive Berlin | Concept vidéo et montage : Jelena Jureša | Effects spéciaux : Dejan Šolajić | Scénographie : Stef Stessel | Lumières : Stef Stessel, Simon Neels | Conseils scientifiques : Christophe Busch | Direction technique : Simon Neels | Soutien technique : Maxim Maes | Programmation : Merel Vercoutere (KAAP) | Coordinateur·ices du projet : Sandra Raes Oklobdžija (ROBIN) & Rolf Quaghebeur (KAAP) | Aide à la production : Kaat Balfoort, Jachym Vandenabeele
Production : KAAP en collaboration avec ROBIN | Coproduction : Kunstenfestivaldesarts, ROBIN, De Singel, Workspacebrussels, Hannah Arendt Institute | Développé à Co-laBo | Avec le soutien de : Vlaamse Overheid, MOUSSEM, Nomadic Art Centre, Royal Academy of Fine Arts (KASK), School of Arts of University College Ghent
Cette performance est développée à partir du film APHASIA, 2019

APHASIA désigne en termes médicaux l’incapacité de parler ou de trouver les mots exacts. APHASIA reconstitue une soirée au cœur d’une boîte de nuit, dans une ville ayant connu la guerre, une trentaine d’années après celle-ci. Parmi la foule en sueur qui fait la fête, une femme qui danse reconnaît soudainement le DJ. Elle observe attentivement ses mouvements, les comparant à ceux qu’elle a connus il y a trente ans, et reconnaît petit à petit le visage d’un criminel de guerre qui n’a jamais été condamné : « l’homme qui donne des coups de pied aux morts ». Dans APHASIA, Jureša, accompagnée des musiciens Alen et Nenad Sinkauz et de la danseuse-comédienne Ivana Jozić, questionne les dynamiques de polarisation, d’obéissance à l’autorité et la tentation de la violence de groupe. Dans un décor de boîte de nuit, elle nous confronte à l’absurdité qui résulte du silence collectif entourant des crimes et dans lequel les passant·es jouent un rôle central. Que signifie être un·e témoin et un·e participant·e silencieux·euse à la violence ?

performance / une co-production moussem

12/05/22 - 14/05/22
Kunstenfestivaldesarts