SUFI NIGHT

Ghalia Benali - Eric Geoffroy

SUFI NIGHT
Ghalia Benali in concert
Eric Geoffroy - online lecture

Every year Moussem and BOZAR present an evening dedicated to the rich and diverse tradition of Sufism, the spiritual branch of Islam.

Ghali Benali sings Sufi poets

The Belgian-Tunisian Ghalia Benali is a singer, actress, writer and visual artist. She sings in the classical Arabic language, but through her compositions she brings together a wide range of influences: from Arab folk to jazz and from contemporary lounge to classical Indian music. With her graceful, magical voice, Ghalia seems to be able to switch effortlessly between these different genres and cultural traditions. Especially for this Sufi Night Ghalia brings the programme "Hadret Ishq" حضرة عشق , an anthology of the immense and rich repertoire of Sufi poets; a programme ranging from ancient texts to contemporary voices, with the accent on Sufism as a lifestyle, more than just a faith.

What can we learn from Sufi wisdom today?
Eric Geoffroy

Sufi specialist and Islamologist Eric Geoffroy lectures at the University of Strasbourg. In this lecture he examines the meaning of spirituality and Sufism in contemporary societies. What can the basic values of universal Sufism - respect for man and nature, asceticism, modesty, spirituality, unity, harmony and beauty - teach us about the great challenges of our time; globalisation, the ecological question and the theme of gender equality?

by / with

Line-up Ghalia Benali:
Ghalia Benali - Vocals
Moufadhel Adhoum - Oud
Vincent Noiret - Contrabass
Abdelali Jazouli - Percussions
Nejib Farjallah - Percussions
Pascale Snoek - Electronics

SUFI NIGHT
Ghalia Benali in concert
Eric Geoffroy - online lecture

Every year Moussem and BOZAR present an evening dedicated to the rich and diverse tradition of Sufism, the spiritual branch of Islam.

Ghali Benali sings Sufi poets

The Belgian-Tunisian Ghalia Benali is a singer, actress, writer and visual artist. She sings in the classical Arabic language, but through her compositions she brings together a wide range of influences: from Arab folk to jazz and from contemporary lounge to classical Indian music. With her graceful, magical voice, Ghalia seems to be able to switch effortlessly between these different genres and cultural traditions. Especially for this Sufi Night Ghalia brings the programme "Hadret Ishq" حضرة عشق , an anthology of the immense and rich repertoire of Sufi poets; a programme ranging from ancient texts to contemporary voices, with the accent on Sufism as a lifestyle, more than just a faith.

What can we learn from Sufi wisdom today?
Eric Geoffroy

Sufi specialist and Islamologist Eric Geoffroy lectures at the University of Strasbourg. In this lecture he examines the meaning of spirituality and Sufism in contemporary societies. What can the basic values of universal Sufism - respect for man and nature, asceticism, modesty, spirituality, unity, harmony and beauty - teach us about the great challenges of our time; globalisation, the ecological question and the theme of gender equality?

music / lecture / moussem co-production

SUFI NIGHT

Ghalia Benali - Eric Geoffroy

SUFI NIGHT
Ghalia Benali en concert
Eric Geoffroy - conférence en ligne

Chaque année, Moussem et BOZAR présentent une soirée consacrée à la riche et diverse tradition du soufisme, la branche spirituelle de l'Islam.

Ghali Benali chante les poètes soufis

La Belgo-Tunisienne Ghalia Benali est chanteuse, actrice, écrivain et artiste visuelle. Elle chante dans la langue arabe classique, mais avec ses compositions, elle réunit un large éventail d'influences : du folk arabe au jazz et de la musique lounge contemporaine à la musique classique indienne. Avec sa voix gracieuse et magique, Ghalia semble pouvoir passer sans effort d'un genre à l'autre et d'une tradition culturelle à l'autre. Spécialement pour cette Nuit Soufie, Ghalia présente le programme "Hadret Ishq" حضرة عشق , une anthologie de l'immense et riche répertoire des poètes soufis ; un programme allant des textes anciens aux voix contemporaines, avec l'accent sur le soufisme comme un style de vie, plus qu'une simple foi.

Que pouvons-nous apprendre de la sagesse soufie aujourd'hui ?
Eric Geoffroy

Le spécialiste soufi et islamologue Eric Geoffroy enseigne à l'Université de Strasbourg. Dans cette conférence, il approfondit la signification de la spiritualité et du soufisme dans les sociétés contemporaines. Que pouvons-nous apprendre des valeurs fondamentales du soufisme universel - respect de l'homme et de la nature, ascèse, modestie, spiritualité, unité, harmonie et beauté - sur les grands défis de notre temps ; la mondialisation, la question écologique et le thème de l'égalité des sexes ?

de / avec

Line-up Ghalia Benali:
Ghalia Benali - Vocals
Moufadhel Adhoum - Oud
Vincent Noiret - Contrabass
Abdelali Jazouli - Percussions
Nejib Farjallah - Percussions
Pascale Snoek - Electronics

SUFI NIGHT
Ghalia Benali en concert
Eric Geoffroy - conférence en ligne

Chaque année, Moussem et BOZAR présentent une soirée consacrée à la riche et diverse tradition du soufisme, la branche spirituelle de l'Islam.

Ghali Benali chante les poètes soufis

La Belgo-Tunisienne Ghalia Benali est chanteuse, actrice, écrivain et artiste visuelle. Elle chante dans la langue arabe classique, mais avec ses compositions, elle réunit un large éventail d'influences : du folk arabe au jazz et de la musique lounge contemporaine à la musique classique indienne. Avec sa voix gracieuse et magique, Ghalia semble pouvoir passer sans effort d'un genre à l'autre et d'une tradition culturelle à l'autre. Spécialement pour cette Nuit Soufie, Ghalia présente le programme "Hadret Ishq" حضرة عشق , une anthologie de l'immense et riche répertoire des poètes soufis ; un programme allant des textes anciens aux voix contemporaines, avec l'accent sur le soufisme comme un style de vie, plus qu'une simple foi.

Que pouvons-nous apprendre de la sagesse soufie aujourd'hui ?
Eric Geoffroy

Le spécialiste soufi et islamologue Eric Geoffroy enseigne à l'Université de Strasbourg. Dans cette conférence, il approfondit la signification de la spiritualité et du soufisme dans les sociétés contemporaines. Que pouvons-nous apprendre des valeurs fondamentales du soufisme universel - respect de l'homme et de la nature, ascèse, modestie, spiritualité, unité, harmonie et beauté - sur les grands défis de notre temps ; la mondialisation, la question écologique et le thème de l'égalité des sexes ?

musique / lecture / une co-production moussem