Sahara Blues

Terakaft + Doueh + afterparty by Afriquya

The Sahara, located at the crossroads of the Arabian-Berber and Central African cultures, where nomadic communities travel back and forth. A rich musical heritage of shared voices and rhythms has resulted from centuries of cultural exchange. This evening plays host to two groups representative of the ‘desert rock’, groups that like Tinariwen mix traditional music with rock and pop elements.

Terakaft (caravan), originally from the north of Mali, play a hypnotic, repetitive and rhythmic version of the Sahrawi blues. Band leader Diara was composer and guitarist from Tinariwen’s early days and is joined by Sanou who is representative of the younger generation of Touareg guitarists. Terakaft’s music is a raw and free desert sound, a mixture of trance, rock and psychedelic influences that is best experienced live. Their militant lyrics champion the rights of the nomads in each of their torn-apart homelands.
“Irresistible.” The Guardian

The legendary Doueh, originating from Dakhla in the south of Morocco, has been around for the last 27 years. This family band have a respected live reputation with an exceptionally powerful sound where the traditional Hassani repertoire gets an injection of pop, folk and blues. Their rooted in tradition yet wonderfully innovative music has been released on the prestigious Sublime Frequenties label. Their latest release, ‘Dakhla Sahara Session’, was recorded with the French underground garage rock trio Cheveu.

Afterwards you can join the official Sahara Blues afterparty with Afriquya (non-profit), LOWUP & Sonar. Afriquya is a place to celebrate diversity while supporting local charities and communities. The combination of traditional elements, electronic beats & different artforms make each edition a unique opportunity to discover music, culture and dance your ass off!

For the first time, Afriquya also partners up with two organizations: LOW-UP (record label & radio show, Brussels) and Sonar (party concept by binair01, Gent) to provide a very special experience.

music / guest

Sahara Blues

Terakaft + Doueh + afterparty by Afriquya

Le Sahara se trouve au croisement des cultures arabo-berbères et d’Afrique centrale, entre lesquelles se déplacent des groupes de populations nomades. Les échanges ancestraux ont donné naissance à un riche patrimoine musical de voix et rythmes communs. Cette soirée réunit deux groupes emblématiques du « blues du désert », qui comme Tinariwen mélangent rock, pop et musique traditionnelle.

Le groupe Terakaft (caravane), originaire du nord du Mali, transmet à merveille la dimension hypnotique, répétitive et rythmique du blues sahraoui. Diara, le chef du groupe, était guitariste et compositeur de la première heure de Tinariwen, et le deuxième homme, Sanou, représente la plus jeune génération de guitaristes touareg. Terakaft représente des sons du désert bruts et libres, où se retrouvent des influences de la trance, du rock et du psychédélisme. C’est en concert que le groupe est pleinement mis en valeur. Dans les textes militants, ils défendent les droits des nomades dans leur pays d’origine déchiré.
« Irrésistible ». The Guardian

Le Doueh légendaire, originaire de Dakhla, au sud du Maroc, existe depuis déjà 27 ans. Cette formation familiale à la solide réputation live possède un son puissant, mêlant répertoire traditionnel hassani, pop, folk et blues. Leur musique novatrice, ancrée dans la tradition, est produite par le prestigieux label Sublime Frequenties. Doueh a récemment sorti « Dakhla Sahara Session », un album enregistré avec le groupe Cheveu, trio de garage-rock français underground.

Ensuite, vous pouvez rejoindre la  Sahara Blues afterparty avec Afriquya (asbl), LOWUP & Sonar. Afriquya est un endroit pour célébrer la diversité tout en soutenant les organisations caritatives et les communautés locales. La combinaison d'éléments traditionnels, de rythmes électroniques et de différentes formes d'art fait de chaque édition une occasion unique de découvrir la musique, la culture et de danser comme des fous !

Pour la première fois, Afriquya s'associe à deux organisations : LOW-UP (label de disques et émission de radio, Bruxelles) et Sonar (concept de fête par binair01, Gand) pour offrir une expérience très spéciale.

musique / invité