Sufi Night

Jerusalem Sufi Ensemble & Ensemble Rhoum El Bakkali

Moussem and BOZAR present the eleventh Sufi Night, an evening dedicated to the rich and diverse musical tradition found in Sufism, the spiritual branch of the Islam.

Hadra Chefchaounia - Ensemble Rhoum El Bakkali

Hadra is an age-old musical tradition, a ritual of hymns, incantations and sung prayers aimed at attaining an ecstatic state in a divine presence. This hadra Chefchanouia originates from the Moroccan mountain town of Chefchaouen, the centre of a rich and varied musical heritage, is exclusively practiced by women. The ensemble, led by the charismatic Rhoum El Bakkali, keeper and conduit of this heritage, will play its own repertoire of popular, poetic songs based on poems by Arabian and Andalusian masters. The stirring rhythms and percussion gradually build from a dignified tempo to a dynamic climax. This hadra captivates the listener both through its poetic lyrics and melodies as well as through its spellbinding choreography.

Jerusalem Sufi Ensemble

This ensemble, rooted in the spiritual cradle of Jerusalem, brings to life the incredible power of prayers and hymns that have resounded throughout the city from time immemorial. The broad classical and traditional repertoire from Palestine and from the region is enriched through their own compositions and by the fusion of various musical traditions and perspectives.
This “performance of the forgiveness” immerses you in an intense spiritual Sufi experience. The driving force of the ensemble, composer and violinist Ramzi Aburedwan, grew up in a Palestinian refugee camp. His eventful life has been the subject of various documentaries. With the help of music, Aburedwan considers it his mission to bring some normality back to life in Palestine.

music / guest

Sufi Night

Jerusalem Sufi Ensemble & Ensemble Rhoum El Bakkali

Moussem et BOZAR présentent la onzième édition de la Sufi Night, une soirée placée sous le signe de la riche et diverse tradition musicale du soufisme, la branche spirituelle de l’islam.

Hadra Chefchaounia – Ensemble Rhoum El Bakkali

La hadra relève d’une tradition musicale séculaire, un rituel constitué de louanges, d’incantations et de prières chantées permettant d’atteindre l’extase en présence divine. . Originaire de la petite ville marocaine Chefchaouen nichée dans les montagnes et centre névralgique d’un héritage musical riche et varié, la hadra Chefchaouinia est exercée uniquement par les femmes. L’ensemble, mené par la charismatique Rhoum El Bakkali, gardienne et passeuse de cet héritage, interprète son propre répertoire de chansons populaires poétiques basées sur des poèmes de maîtres arabes et andalous. Les rythmes entraînants et les percussions emmènent progressivement l’auditeur d’un tempo solennel vers un climax dynamique. Le répertoire de l’ensemble fascine tant par ses textes poétiques et ses mélodies que par sa chorégraphie envoûtante.

Jerusalem Sufi Ensemble

Cet ensemble, enraciné dans le berceau spirituel qu’est Jérusalem, donne vie à la puissance incroyable des prières et hymnes qui résonnent depuis des lustres dans la ville. Il intègre des compositions originales au large répertoire classique et traditionnel de la région palestinienne, auquel il ajoute également la fusion de différentes traditions et perspectives musicales.
Ce « spectacle du pardon » vous plonge dans une expérience spirituelle soufie intense. Inspirateur de l’ensemble, le compositeur et violoniste Ramzi Aburedwan a grandi dans un camp de réfugiés palestinien et son histoire mouvementée a fait l’objet de plusieurs documentaires. Aburedwan estime que sa mission consiste à rendre la Palestine plus vivable grâce à la musique.

musique / invité