Hanane Hajj-Ali

Jogging

by / with

Co-production:
AFAC – The Arab Fund for Arts and Culture
In cooperation with: Heinrich Böll Stiftung - MENA Office (Beirut), Embassy of Switzerland in Beirut, The British Council

Support: SHAMS Association, Collectif Kahraba, Al Mawred Al Thaqafy (Culture Resource), Moussem (BE), Zoukak / Focus Liban 2016, artasfoundation, l’Institut Français du Liban, VATECH, Khalil Wardé SAL.

“Those who know me will find that they did not really know me, those who do not know me yet, will curse the day they met me,” warns Hanane Hajj-Ali at the start of her performance.
Hanane Hajj-Ali is one of the most famous theater figures and agitprop exponents in Lebanon, even if she is now already past fifty. The monologue of the actress, wife and mother who goes jogging every day to prevent osteoporosis, obesity and depression, takes the viewer through the streets of Beirut and into her dreams, desires and disillusionments and the characters she interprets.

The daily jogging ritual has contradictory effects. Against the backdrop of a city that destroys to rebuild and rebuilds to destroy, the two hormones released by exercising, dopamine and adrenaline, also seem to have alternating destructive and constructive effects.

With Jogging Hanane Hajj-Ali presents a multi-layered text that eschews neither the personal nor the political.

theater / moussem co-production

15/05/18 - 15/05/18
Theatertreffen, Berlin (DE)

Hanane Hajj-Ali

Jogging

de / avec

Co-production:
AFAC – The Arab Fund for Arts and Culture
In cooperation with: Heinrich Böll Stiftung - MENA Office (Beirut), Embassy of Switzerland in Beirut, The British Council

Support: SHAMS Association, Collectif Kahraba, Al Mawred Al Thaqafy (Culture Resource), Moussem (BE), Zoukak / Focus Liban 2016, artasfoundation, l’Institut Français du Liban, VATECH, Khalil Wardé SAL.

« Ceux qui me connaissent découvriront qu’en fait ils ne connaissent pas vraiment ; ceux qui ne me connaissent pas encore maudiront le jour où ils m’ont rencontrée », prévient Hanane Hajj-Ali d’entrée de jeu.

Hanane Hajj-Ali est une des figures les plus marquantes et les plus provocatrices du théâtre libanais. Le monologue de cette actrice, épouse et mère qui a dépassé la cinquantaine et fait son jogging quotidien pour combattre l’ostéoporose, l’obésité et la dépression, entraîne le spectateur dans les rues de Beyrouth et le plonge dans ses rêves, ses désirs, ses désillusions à travers tous les personnages qu’elle incarne.

Le rituel du jogging quotidien a des effets contradictoires. Sur toile de fond d’une ville qui détruit pour reconstruire et reconstruit pour détruire à nouveau, les deux hormones libérées par l’exercice du sport, la dopamine et l’adrénaline, ont des effets alternativement destructifs et constructifs.

Le texte aux multiples lectures de Hanane Hajj-Ali traite avec la même audace de sujets personnels et politiques.

théâtre / une co-production moussem

15/05/18 - 15/05/18
Theatertreffen, Berlin (DE)