RAW Poetry

Casablanca Borderlines

by / with

Moussem icw Limiditi - Temporary Art Projects & BOZAR

Curated by Younes Baba-Ali assisted by Meriem Berrada
Scientific Support by Nadia Sabri

This exhibition aims to turn the spotlight on Casablanca’s creative energy, through the work of three young artists who commute between Morocco and Europe.

Randa Maroufi’s work consists of photos, videos, installations, performances and sound art. The artist is interested in the staging of bodies in public or intimate space. Her approach is often political, and focuses on ambiguity in order to question the status of images. We will be exhibiting Maroufi’s videos Le Park and Stand By Office, as well as her new production Place Houwaert, série Les Intruses, a project about public space and gender that she is starting up in Brussels as part of Moussem Cities.

Mostafa Saifi Rahmouni bases himself on real, personal or collective facts or events. He questions the human condition without judgement or criticism, thereby reflecting on its values and focusing on the human capacity to imbue violence and pain with meaning, and/or to transcend them. The exhibition includes his visual work Piece of Bread, as well as the light installation The City of the Living and the new creation Jotiya (‘flea market’), which Moussem Cities commissioned him to create during a residence in Casablanca.

Youssef Ouchra has a multidisciplinary oeuvre that focuses on the relationship between mankind and his environment. He combines sound art, graphic design, performance, installation and video. Ouchra presents the video installation and performance Informatage #1, the installation and video Daqa F’Marrakchia, and the new production Meta-Fausse-Mort, an experimental and participatory performance that asks questions about an artist’s ‘career’.

Curatorial team

Younes Baba-Ali, artist, cultural actor, and founder of Limiditi - Temporary Art Projects, a cultural association and international artists' residency that wants to develop cultural projects based on contemporary art practices, by promoting local and international research.

Nadia Sabri, academic, independent curator
Faculty of Education Sciences of the Rabat and Casablanca Schools of Architecture. Sabri's research projects focus in part on the status and involvement of the artist in Casablanca.

Meriem Berrada designs and realises the artistic projects of the Fondation Alliances in Casablanca. In 2017, Berrada joined the artistic direction of Limiditi - Temporary Art Projects, alongside Younes Baba-Ali.

Part of Moussem Cities Casablanca

visual arts / a moussem production

RAW poetry

Casablanca Borderlines

de / avec

Moussem icw Limiditi - Temporary Art Projects & BOZAR

Curated by Younes Baba-Ali assisted by Meriem Berrada
Scientific Support by Nadia Sabri

Trois jeunes artistes qui voyagent entre le Maroc et l’Europe questionnent la ville mythique comme lieu de synergies et de paradoxes.

L’œuvre de Randa Maroufi se compose de photographies, de vidéos, d’installations, de performances et d’art sonore. L’artiste s’intéresse à la mise en scène des corps dans l’espace public ou privé. Une approche souvent politique qui joue sur l’ambiguïté afin d’interroger le statut des images. Nous exposons deux vidéos de Randa Maroufi, Le Park et Stand By Office ainsi que sa nouvelle production Place Houwaert, série Les Intruses, un projet autour de l’espace public et sa connotation communautaire (voire de genre) qu’elle lance à Bruxelles à l’occasion de Moussem Cities.

Mostafa Saifi Rahmouni se base sur des faits ou des événements réels, personnels ou collectifs. Il interroge la condition humaine sans jugement ou critique. Ce faisant, il réfléchit toutefois à ses valeurs et se concentre sur les facultés humaines à donner du sens à la violence et à la douleur afin de les transcender. Dans l’exposition, on peut voir son œuvre suggestive Piece Of Bread, ainsi que l’installation lumineuse The City of the living et sa nouvelle création, Jotiya (marché aux puces), réalisée à la demande de Moussem Cities lors d’une résidence à Casablanca.

Youssef Ouchra travaille à une œuvre multidisciplinaire autour de la relation entre l’homme et son environnement. Il combine l’art sonore, le graphisme, la performance, l’installation et la vidéo. Ouchra présente l’installation vidéo et la performance Informatage #1, l’installation et la vidéo Daqa F’Marrakchia et la nouvelle production Meta-Fausse-Mort, une performance expérimentale et participative qui soulève des questions sur la place de l’artiste aujourd’hui au Maroc et sa mise en « performance » permanente par le marché de l’art local.

 

Equipe curatoriale :

Younes Baba-Ali, artiste, acteur culturel, et fondateur de l’association culturelle et résidence d’artistes internationale Limiditi - Temporary Art Projects qui a pour intention de développer des projets culturels axés sur les pratiques contemporaines, en favorisant la recherche sur le territoire et à l’international.

Meriem Berrada, conçoit et met en œuvre les projets artistiques de la Fondation Alliances à Casablanca (Ma). En 2017, Meriem Berrada rejoint la direction artistique de Limiditi – Temporary Art Projects aux côtés de Younes Baba-Ali.

Scientific support :
Nadia Sabri, universitaire - Faculté des Sciences de l’Education de Rabat et Ecole d’Architecture de Casablanca.
Curatrice indépendante, les projets de recherche de Nadia Sabri portent en partie sur le statut et l’implication de l’artiste dans la ville de Casablanca.

dans le cadre de Moussem Cities Casablanca

art visuel / une production moussem