Moussem Repertoire

Trailer Moussem Repertoire

For several years Moussem has been introducing theatre companies, producing new work for the stage and supporting writers and theatre-makers in the development of their productions. In this way we are engaged in opening up and presenting a ‘new’ repertoire, and also in shaping a new shared narrative that connects with the present reality of the city.

Two years ago we ran a special programme focusing on the Syrian author Saadalah Wannous. His acclaimed work ‘Tuqus al-Isharat wa-l-Tahawwulat’ was published under the title ‘Rituals, Signs and Changes’ and was the very first play written in Arabic to be translated into and published in Dutch.

Our active policy of publishing plays adds an extra layer to the broader picture of the introduction of new work. During last season, Moussem and Kaaitheater initiated a reading group of directors, translators and dramaturges. Its members, Esther Severi, Thomas Bellinck, Sarah Eisha, Simon de Vos, Dounia Mahammed, Lore Baeten and Cees Vossen examined plays suggested by specialist friends and writers from the region, and selected two for translation and publication in the series that Moussem is working on in association with the publishers Bebuquin.

In Moussem Repertoire we, together with Toneelhuis and deSingel, are once again putting together a focus programme on the ‘Arabic’ repertoire in which the various aspects of our work come together. It will again be a three-day festival of performances, play readings, book presentations and a related programme to explore the work in greater depth. We are cooperating with theatre students, inviting specialists from the region and creating a platform for international dialogue with theatre-makers and audiences.

Programme Moussem Repertoire

19.10.17 - Toneelhuis

19:00 Opening and conference by Hanan Kassab-Hassan 'Introduction to theatre in the MENA region'

19:30 Presentation publications 'De Dictator' + 'Kop dicht en graven'

20:00 Performance 'In the Eruptive Mode' - Sulayman Al Bassam

20.10.17 - deSingel

14:00 Lecture 'Kop dicht en graven'

15:00 Discussion with Hanan Kassab-Hassan, Sulayman Al Bassam, Leyla-Claire Rabih ea

20.10.17 - Toneelhuis

19:00 Lecture 'De Dictator'

20:00 Performance 'Jogging' - Hanane Hajj-Ali

21.10.17 - deSingel

20:00 Performance 'Chronicles of an Orphan Revolution' - Leyla-Claire Rabih

19/10/17 - 21/10/17

Moussem Repertoire

Trailer Moussem Repertoire

Depuis des années, Moussem présente des compagnies de théâtre, produit de nouvelles œuvres théâtrales et soutient des écrivains et des metteurs en scène dans l’élaboration de leurs œuvres. Ainsi, nous favorisons la découverte et la valorisation d’un « nouveau » répertoire et donnons corps à une nouvelle mise en récit collective de la réalité urbaine contemporaine.

Il y a deux ans, nous avons lancé un programme focus et braqué notre regard sur l’auteur syrien Saadalah Wannous. Son texte acclamé Tuqus al-isharat wa-al-Tahawwulat, traduit sous le titre Rituelen, tekenen en veranderingen (Rituels pour une métamorphose), était le premier texte de théâtre écrit en arabe à être traduit et publié en néerlandais. Une politique active de publication de textes de théâtre ajoute une dimension supplémentaire à la grande entreprise d’introduction de nouvelles œuvres.

Au cours de la saison passée, Moussem et le Kaaitheater ont lancé un groupe de lecture réunissant des metteurs en scène, des traducteurs et des dramaturges. Esther Severi, Thomas Bellinck, Sarah Eisha, Simon de Vos, Dounia Mahammed, Lore Baeten et Cees Vossen se sont penchés sur des textes conseillés par des spécialistes amis et des par des auteurs de la région. Ils ont sélectionné deux pièces qui seront traduites et publiées dans la série que Moussem prépare avec la maison d’édition Bebuquin.

Avec Moussem Repertoire, nous proposons à nouveau, en partenariat avec la Toneelhuis et deSingel, un programme focus autour du répertoire arabe dans lequel divers aspects de notre fonctionnement se rejoignent. À nouveau un festival de trois jours avec des spectacles, des lectures de textes, des présentations de livres et un programme parallèle pour s’approfondir sur les œuvres. Nous collaborons avec des étudiants en théâtre, invitons des spécialistes de la région et créons une plateforme de dialogue international entre des créateurs de théâtre et le public.

Programme Moussem Repertoire

19.10.17 - Toneelhuis

19:00 Ouverture et conférence de Hanan Kassab-Hassan 'Introduction au théâtre dans la region MENA'

19:30 Presentation publications 'De Dictator' + 'Kop dicht en graven'

20:00 Spectacle 'In the Eruptive Mode' - Sulayman Al Bassam

20.10.17 - deSingel

14:00 Lecture 'Kop dicht en graven'

15:00 Discussion avec Hanan Kassab-Hassan, Sulayman Al Bassam, Leyla-Claire Rabih ea

20.10.17 - Toneelhuis

19:00 Lecture 'De Dictator'

20:00 Spectacle 'Jogging' - Hanane Hajj-Ali

21.10.17 - deSingel

20:00 Spectacle 'Chronicles of an Orphan Revolution' - Leyla-Claire Rabih

19/10/17 - 21/10/17
plusieurs lieux - varia varia, varia Molenbeek et Bruxelles