ANOUAR BRAHEM

Anouar Brahem/Bozar/oud/Moussem/ECMlabel/jazz/music/world music/Souvenance

by / with

Bozar, Moussem, Hello Jazz Festival

Anouar Brahem: oud

François Couturier : piano

Klaus Gesing: bass clarinet

Bjorn Meyer: bass

In samenwerking met

Anouar Brahem brings us his latest project Souvenance, in collaboration with Orchestre Royal de Chambre de Wallonie, the oldest chamber orchestra in Belgium.

 In the course of nine innovative, timeless albums spread over twenty years, Anouar Brahem has established himself as one of the most original and talented musicians yet to record on the prestigious ECM label.

Brahem is the oud’s conjuror, a master at bringing out the acoustic magic which this age-old traditional Oriental lute carries inside its calabash: the musical heritage of the Arab and Islamic worlds.Brahem is a phenomenon, a concentrated mix of prolific paradoxes: he is a supremely subversive classicist; a solitary soloist, resolutely open to the world; and a "culture smuggler", a man ever inclined to venture beyond his own limits and push back musical frontiers… without yielding an inch to aesthetic standards forged across time and tempered with deep respect for tradition.
Because he has always recognised this fundamental complexity, it has become his strength. And because he’s always sought to weave this abundance of influences and disparate passions inside the very material of his work and compositions, Anouar Brahem is today recognised as one of the rare composers and improvisers capable of inventing a form of music which is totally rooted in an ancestral culture: it is highly sophisticated, yet eminently contemporary, and its ambitions are global.Brahem brings the bewitching poetic colours of the oud to a host of diverse musical canvases.
From the rich repertoire of Jazz – John Surman, Dave Holland and Jan Garbarek are just some of the leading players to succumb to Brahem's melodic spells to the multiple and diverse traditions of Mediterranean and Oriental influence, from his native Tunisia to the confines of India and Iran, his sensitive yet rigorous music ceaselessly redefines a cleverly composite universe of poetry and culture, ever balancing between discretion and sensuality, nostalgia and contemplation.(Stéphane Olivier/ www.anouarbrahem.com)

ANOUAR BRAHEM

Anouar Brahem/oud/Moussem/Bozar/Anouar Brahem/ECM/jazz/musique

de / avec

Coproduction Bozar, Moussem et Hello Jazz Festival

Anouar Brahem: oud

François Couturier : piano

Klaus Gesing: bass clarinet

Bjorn Meyer: bass

In samenwerking met

Anouar Brahem nous propose son dernier projet, qui s'intitule Souvenance, en collaboration avecl' Orchestre Royal de Chambre de Wallonie. 

 Depuis une vingtaine d’années et avec neuf albums aussi novateurs qu'intemporels, Anouar Brahem s’impose comme l'un des musiciens les plus atypiques et talentueux du prestigieux label ECM.

Il faut dire qu'en authentique " maître enchanteur " de l'oud, ce luth traditionnel oriental millénaire qui trimballe dans sa calebasse tout l'héritage musical du monde arabe et islamique, Anouar Brahem est un phénomène, un véritable concentré de paradoxes féconds; un classique suprêmement subversif ; un solitaire résolument ouvert sur le monde ; un "passeur de cultures " d'autant plus enclin à s'aventurer aux limites les plus extrêmes de lui-même, qu'il entend bien ne jamais céder d'un pouce sur des exigences esthétiques forgées au fil du temps sur un profond respect de la tradition.
Et c'est sans doute parce qu'il a su reconnaître d'emblée cette complexité qui le fonde comme une force, parce qu'il a toujours cherché à faire de ce fourmillement d'influences et de passions disparates la matière même de son travail et de sa création, qu'Anouar Brahem s'affirme aujourd'hui comme l'un des rares compositeurs et improvisateurs capables d'inventer une musique à la fois totalement ancrée dans une culture ancestrale hautement sophistiquée et éminemment contemporaine dans son ambition universaliste.
Qu'il fasse ainsi résonner la poésie envoûtante de son oud dans les contextes les plus variés, du jazz dans tous ses états (des musiciens aussi prestigieux que John Surman, Dave Holland ou Jan Garbarek ont succombé aux charmes de ses mélopées) aux différentes traditions musicales orientales et méditerranéennes (de sa Tunisie natale aux horizons lointains de l'Inde ou de l'Iran), sa musique tendre et rigoureuse ne cesse de redéfinir un univers poétique et culturel savamment composite, oscillant sans cesse entre pudeur et sensualité, nostalgie et recueillement. (Stéphane Olivier/ www.anouarbrahem.com)