Ehsan Hemat / Moussem

A in the role of B when C didn’t make it

By entering the hidden network of relations woven between its four performers A in the role of B when C didn’t make it bids to make visible historical and professional implications of these connections but instead finds a deep, built-up disconnection. Traversing the historical landscape of Iranian theatre, four men, a dancer, an actor, a writer and a director share a precarious stage presence that somehow holds together despite all disconnections.

Ehsan Hemat, born in Shiraz and based in Brussels, has come up with a concept in which various generations meet on stage. He invites amongst others his own uncle Asghar: a classically trained Iranian actor who, as a septuagenarian, represents a very different zeitgeist to his young cousin who lives and works in Belgium. The production becomes a mirror of time – of evolution versus tradition in the arts, but also in life in general.

by / with

production: Moussem Nomadic Arts Centre
co-production: KVS, C-Takt, NTGent
developed with the support of laGeste

concept & direction: Ehsan Hemat
in collaboration with Keyvan Sarreshteh en Ali Asghar Dashti

performance: Asghar Hemmat, Ehsan Hemat, Ali Asghar Dashti, Keyvan Sarreshteh.

video: Julie De Clercq

light design: Marco Bertozzi

sound: Roeland Luyten

Images: Michiel Devijver

By entering the hidden network of relations woven between its four performers A in the role of B when C didn’t make it bids to make visible historical and professional implications of these connections but instead finds a deep, built-up disconnection. Traversing the historical landscape of Iranian theatre, four men, a dancer, an actor, a writer and a director share a precarious stage presence that somehow holds together despite all disconnections.

Ehsan Hemat, born in Shiraz and based in Brussels, has come up with a concept in which various generations meet on stage. He invites amongst others his own uncle Asghar: a classically trained Iranian actor who, as a septuagenarian, represents a very different zeitgeist to his young cousin who lives and works in Belgium. The production becomes a mirror of time – of evolution versus tradition in the arts, but also in life in general.

performance / a moussem production

Ehsan Hemat / Moussem

A in the role of B when C didn’t make it

A in the role of B, when C didn’t make it dévoile un réseau caché d’interactions des acteurs sur scène : lorsque le quatuor tente de brosser le tableau des conséquences historiques et professionnelles de leurs liens mutuels, ils se heurtent au contraire à une déconnexion profonde. Des déambulations à travers le paysage théâtral iranien permettent à ces hommes – un danseur, un acteur, un écrivain et un metteur en scène – de partager le plateau qui semble être la seule chose qui les unisse, malgré et au-delà de toutes les divergences.

Ehsan Hemat, né à Shiraz et basé à Bruxelles depuis plusieurs années, a imaginé un concept dans lequel différentes générations se rencontrent sur scène. Pour ce projet, il a entre autres invité son oncle Asghar : un acteur iranien de formation classique qui, en tant que septuagénaire, représente un tout autre état d’esprit que celui de son neveu qui vit et travaille désormais en Belgique. Ainsi, la production devient un reflet du temps – des évolutions par opposition aux traditions dans les arts –, mais aussi de la vie en général.

de / avec

production: Moussem Nomadic Arts Centre
co-production: KVS, C-Takt, NTGent
avec le soutien de laGeste

concept & mise en scène: Ehsan Hemat
en collaboration avec Keyvan Sarreshteh et Ali Asghar Dashti

performance: Asghar Hemmat, Ehsan Hemat, Ali Asghar Dashti, Keyvan Sarreshteh.

vidéo: Julie De Clercq

conception lumiere: Marco Bertozzi

son: Roeland Luyten

Images: Michiel Devijver

A in the role of B, when C didn’t make it dévoile un réseau caché d’interactions des acteurs sur scène : lorsque le quatuor tente de brosser le tableau des conséquences historiques et professionnelles de leurs liens mutuels, ils se heurtent au contraire à une déconnexion profonde. Des déambulations à travers le paysage théâtral iranien permettent à ces hommes – un danseur, un acteur, un écrivain et un metteur en scène – de partager le plateau qui semble être la seule chose qui les unisse, malgré et au-delà de toutes les divergences.

Ehsan Hemat, né à Shiraz et basé à Bruxelles depuis plusieurs années, a imaginé un concept dans lequel différentes générations se rencontrent sur scène. Pour ce projet, il a entre autres invité son oncle Asghar : un acteur iranien de formation classique qui, en tant que septuagénaire, représente un tout autre état d’esprit que celui de son neveu qui vit et travaille désormais en Belgique. Ainsi, la production devient un reflet du temps – des évolutions par opposition aux traditions dans les arts –, mais aussi de la vie en général.

performance / une production moussem